End Your Reading Slump — Horus Heresy Novels Reading Order

End Your Reading Slump — Horus Heresy Novels Reading Order

If you’re a bookworm that’s hit a reading slump, don’t worry. This article’s here to get you out of the funk and help you discover your new favorite series. Meet the Horus Heresy novels. An epic science fiction fantasy, this prequel to Warhammer 40,000 consists of a whopping 59 novels!

That may be a lot, but with this Horus Heresy novels reading order list, you’ll know where to start and how to order the novels for yourself.

A must-read for all fantasy lovers, the Horus Heresy novels are a prequel to the tabletop miniatures wargame Warhammer 40,000. The series was a passion project of several authors and covers the 10,000 years-long Horus Heresy civil war period.

The books detail the rise of the Imperium of Man. They also cover the events that led to the creation of the dystopian future in the Warhammer 40,000 universe.

It’s a tense, exciting, and incredibly rich world that is sure to keep you turning page after page. So, if you’re ready for the next adventure, keep reading to discover the right Horus Heresy novels reading order, and how you can get them on your Kindle!

An Intro to the Horus Heresy World

Horus Heresy World

Image source: Instagram.com

Any fan of Warhammer 40k will tell you how complex this fantasy universe is. Hence, it stands to reason that its prequel is amazing as well.

For the uninitiated, Warhammer 40,000 is set in a futuristic dystopia that depicts a universe on the brink of collapse. The last bastion of human civilization, the totalitarian theocracy known as the Imperium of Man, is barely holding on. Embroiled in war with several different hostile alien races and occult forces, they fight for survival.

The Horus Heresy is the companion series, exploring the origins of the wars in Warhammer. The plot centers around the founder of the Imperium, the Emperor of Man and his 18 genetically engineered sons.

They travel across the galaxy, struggling to unite the shattered remnants of human civilization. On their journey, they come into conflict with the Chaos Gods, a race of malevolent spirits hellbent on stopping the Imperium’s expansion.

The series is a combination of Lovecraftian cosmic horror and Frank Herbert’s Dune. This makes it a real treat for both horror and sci-fi fans. John Milton’s Paradise Lost also makes an appearance, inspiring the religious philosophy of the Imperium.

The novel heavily dives into the concepts of nihilism, totalitarian power, and the cost of war. Overall, it’s the perfect story for readers who like dark dystopias without a happy ending.

What’s the Correct Horus Heresy Novels Reading Order, and Where to Get Them?

correct order

Image source: Instagram.com

If you’re sold on the Horus Heresy series, you’ll be pleased to know that you can order it on Amazon! The books are available on Amazon both in paperback and on Kindle at very affordable prices. As mentioned before, the series comprises 59 books, in the following order:

Book Title
1 Horus Rising
2 False Gods
3 Galaxy in Flames
4 The Flight of the Eisenstein
5 Fulgrim
6 Descent of Angels
7 Legion
8 Battle for the Abyss
9 Mechanicum
10 Tales of Heresy
11 Fallen Angels
12 A Thousand Sons
13 Nemesis
14 The First Heretic
15 Prospero Burns
16 Age of Darkness
17 The Outcast Dead
18 Deliverance Lost
19 Know No Fear
20 The Primarchs
21 Fear to Tread
22 Shadows of Treachery
23 Angel Exterminatus
24 Betrayer
25 Mark of Calth
26 Vulkan Lives
27 The Unremembered Empire
28 Scars
29 Vengeful Spirit
30 The Damnation of Pythos
31 Legacies of Betrayal
32 Deathfire
33 War Without End
34 Pharos
35 Eye of Terra
36 The Path of Heaven
37 The Silent War
38 Angels of Caliban
39 Praetorian of Dorn
40 Corax
41 The Master of Mankind
42 Garro
43 Shattered Legions
44 The Crimson King
45 Tallarn
46 Ruinstorm
47 Old Earth
48 The Burden of Loyalty
49 Wolfsbane
 50 Born of Flame
51 Slaves to Darkness
52 Heralds of the Siege
53 Titandeath
54 The Buried Dagger
55 The Solar War
56 The Lost and the Damned
57 The First Wall
58 Saturnine
59 Mortis

Naturally, the best place to start exploring this series is book 1, Horus Rising. But be warned! Once you start reading this sci-fi fantasy, you won’t be able to stop!

Final Thoughts

The prequel to the Warhammer 40,000 is a definite must-read for all fantasy lovers. If you want the correct Horus Heresy Novels reading order, starting with the first published novel, Horus Rising. From there, explore the rest of the series, and fall in love with this amazing sci-fi dystopian adventure.

Featured image source: Instagram.com

About Author

Priscilla Dreher

Known for her travel blogs, Priscilla Dreher started out as sociologist in her career only to combine her love for writing with her penchant for philanthropy in the later years. A widely traveled author, Dreher has championed many human rights causes and continues to advocate for socio-political inclusivity in all her writing.